Horror Dna Logo Header
Horror Dna Logo Header Right

Latest Articles

Blossoms 666 #2

on 23 March 2019 in Comics Read More

Us

on 22 March 2019 in Movies Read More

Depraved

on 21 March 2019 in Movies Read More

Great Big Teeth

on 21 March 2019 in Books Read More

Wilderness Movie Review

Written by Rosie Fletcher

Film released by Momentum Pictures (UK)

W1

Directed by Michael J Bassett
Written by Dario Poloni
2006, Rated 18, 110 minutes

Starring:
Sean Pertwee as Jed
Alex Reid as Louise
Toby Kebbell as Callum
Stephen Wight as Steve
Adam Deacon as Blue
Richie Campell as Jethro

W2 W3

Before I saw Wilderness I’d read one short review of it and nothing more. One of the things I liked, is that coming to it virtually cold, by half way through the film I still had absolutely no idea who or what the “baddie” was going to be. That’s not something I get to experience very often and it kept me on the edge of my seat. For the sake of this review, and so as not to deny you the fun I had, I’ve chosen my images carefully, mainly from the first half of the film and I’ll be discussing the later stages of the plot as little as possible.

W4 W5

Michael J Bassett’s film concerns a group of “special unit youth prisoners” who are taken to a seemingly deserted island to do a bit of bonding and to learn a few life lessons. It’s an all-male group of nasty, difficult young men, and it’s not without the character standards: the bully, the henchman, the coward and the dangerous outsider. These characters are familiar from prison dramas, borstal nightmares and school flicks over the years, from Cool Hand Luke to Harry Potter.

W6 W7

Despite this, Bassett manages to get some good performances from the group of mostly-unknowns and the dialogue manages to stay largely contemporary and fresh, avoiding going too far down the well-beaten track of bad boy clichés. Toby Kebbell as our hero, Callum, gives a strong and convincing performance and is easy to cheer for, and Stephen Wright is extremely convincing as the cruel little sadist, Steve, adding a lot to the overall tension of the film.


W8 W9

There are some imaginative and disgusting kills in Wilderness and a lot of grim gore and, for me, because of a certain (not uncommon) fear I have, I found a number of scenes in this film really nightmarish to watch. There are a couple of genius uses of the setting and surroundings, too — things appearing from the undergrowth that had been there the entire scene. There’s a frequent sense things aren’t quite what you expected them to be which keeps you on your toes and makes for an enjoyable watch. The film looks good — it’s full of beautiful shots of scenery from fields, to woods, to cliffs and the ocean, which work well against the early shots of the boys’ confinement. The over use of fade-to-black shots were an annoying distraction, though, and made it feel a bit like a TV movie, with deliberate pauses for adverts.

Listing some of the boys’ offences without saying who did what (we know we have a murderer, armed robbers and a serial sex offender within the group, for example) was a nice touch, and adds to this sense of not having all the info — not being able to see the full picture.

Unfortunately, when the baddie finally does reveal itself it just isn’t very scary — it’s a bit disappointing and it feels a bit out of place with the rest of the film. It also raises a fair few questions that aren’t ever answered, which always feels unsatisfying.

W10 W12

Watching Wilderness I was reminded of a number of other films. Battle Royale, was one — the last scene in Wilderness was surely a nod in that direction. The relationships and the cruelty shown between the boys reminded me first of the brilliant, but disturbing, borstal drama Scum and then of the ubiquitous boys-on-an-island story The Lord of the Flies. But most of all, Wilderness is always going to be compared to Neil Marshall’s Dog Soldiers — because it’s set in a remote British woodland, because Sean Pertwee is in it (and the casting of Alex Reid from Marshall’s The Descent re-enforces the connection), because the title page of the website shows a close up of a massive set of animal fangs and, of course, because it’s British. Unfortunately, it’s not as good as Dog Soldiers. It’s not as funny, it’s not as scary and the characters and dialogue aren’t as memorable. However, Wilderness does a good line in gore and includes some imaginative kills. The boys carry the film and keep you guessing, and also caring, until the last. It’s more interesting and thoughtful than a lot of horror movies you’ll see. It’s a solid rental for an evening in, but unfortunately it doesn’t quite have the finesse to make it something you’ll want to watch over and over again.

W11 W13

Film: ***/*****

This was a screener so picture, sound and extras will not be reviewed.

Want to comment on this review? Head over to the Horror DNA Review Forum.

Movies

Us

22 March 2019

Depraved

21 March 2019

Comics

Blossoms 666 #2

23 March 2019

SKOTUS #1

20 March 2019

Cursed Land

13 March 2019

Books

The Auld Mither

07 March 2019

Foe

22 February 2019

Kinfolk

17 February 2019

Podcast

Funny Book Splatter 01

Funny Book Splatter 093: Joey Weiser

on 07 March 2019 in Podcast

James chats with the creator of the all-ages graphic novel, Ghost Hog.

Read More
165
Funny Book Splatter 01

Funny Book Splatter 092: Magdalene Visaggio

on 08 February 2019 in Podcast

James speaks to the writer of Morning in America, coming soon from Oni Press.

Read More
150
Funny Book Splatter 01

Funny Book Splatter 091: John Horlsey

on 06 February 2019 in Podcast

James speaks to the creator of the Eynes anthology, currently on Kickstarter.

Read More
126
Funny Book Splatter 01

Funny Book Splatter 090: Ben Kahn #2

on 03 January 2019 in Podcast

James speaks with the writer of Heavenly Blues, the series described as Ocean's 11 in Heaven.

Read More
286

Contests

Leprechaun Returns Dvd Double Pack Large

Win a Leprechaun Returns DVD Double Pack

on 19 March 2019 in Contests

Win a Leprechaun/Leprechaun Returns Double Pack

Read More
268
Great Big Teeth Large

Win a Kindle Copy of Great Big Teeth

on 17 March 2019 in Contests

We have FOUR copies to give away of Eddie Generous' latest monster novel.

Read More
287
Blood Hunger Films Of Jose Larraz Large

Win Blood Hunger: The Films of Jose Larraz

on 15 March 2019 in Contests

Win a Jose Larraz Blu-ray collection.

Read More
343
Possum Blu Ray Large

Win a Possum T-Shirt & Blu-ray

on 04 March 2019 in Contests

Win Matthew Holness' psychological horror on Blu-ray

Read More
1216

Music & TV

Folklore S01 Large

Folklore - Season 1, Episode 5: "Toyol"

on 17 March 2019 in TV Shows

Episode 5 of Folklore, "Toyol," is about the angry ghost of a baby, proving once again that children are just the ...

Read More
48
Suspiria Limited Edition Unreleased Material Thom Yorke Large

Suspiria (2018): Unreleased Material

on 10 March 2019 in Music

The companion piece to Thom Yorke’s accomplished Suspiria soundtrack is unfinished and unnecessary.

Read More
97
Folklore S01 Large

Folklore - Season 1, Episode 4: "Pob"

on 02 March 2019 in TV Shows

Folklore lightens up a little for episode 4, and does much better because of it.

Read More
96
Folklore S01 Large

Folklore - Season 1, Episode 3: "Nobody"

on 21 February 2019 in TV Shows

Folklore - Episode 3 takes us to Singapore, where we meet a pontianak and indirectly learn about the importance of labor ...

Read More
228
Folklore S01 Large

Folklore - Season 1, Episode 2: "Tatami"

on 14 February 2019 in TV Shows

Few things frustrate a genre fan as much as wasted potential.

Read More
169
Folklore S01 Large

Folklore - Season 1, Episode 1: "A Mother's Love"

on 06 February 2019 in TV Shows

With Episode 1, set in Jakarta, Folklore is off to a mediocre start.

Read More
303
­

Join Us!

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...