DNA Banner 03
horror dna logo header right



If you've somehow never picked up a Hellboy comic in the character's 25 year history, now is your chance to dig into the basics. Dark Horse Comics has announced Hellboy Essentials, a series of four graphic novels collecting stories chosen by creator Mike Mignola chronicling iconic stories from this world. Each features new covers by Mignola and colorist Dave Stewart.

“In some cases—B.P.R.D. and Witchfinder—it was pretty easy to select the one “essential” book,” said Mignola. “Hellboy was more complicated, as there is so much ground to cover. In the end we chose to go with a collection of short stories rather than a single graphic novel, to give more of an overview of the character. We chose certain stories that say important things about his background, but also some that just show what he does and how he does it. A couple of stories are in there just because they are my favorites.”

Click images to enlarge

The first volume, Hellboy Universe Essentials: Hellboy, is set to debut in July 2021. Priced at $14.99, it collects The Chained Coffin, The Third Wish, Pancakes, The Nature of the Beast, The Corpse, The Baba Yaga, A Christmas Underground, The Ghoul, and The Troll Witch.

This is followed by Hellboy Universe Essentials: B.P.R.D. in November 2021, Hellboy Universe Essentials: Lobster Johnson in March 2022, and Hellboy Universe Essentials: Witch Finder in July 2022.

Buy Amazon Us

This page includes affiliate links where Horror DNA may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Want to share some news? Click here to hit us with it!

About The Author
James Ferguson
Lord of the Funny Books
James has a 2nd grade reading level and, as a result, only reads books with pictures. Horror is his 5th favorite genre right after romantic comedy and just before silent films. No one knows why he's here, but he won't leave.
Recent Articles


Join Us!

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...