DNA Banner 01
horror dna logo header right

the art and making of the stand poster large

THE ART AND MAKING OF THE STAND DETAILS

In case you missed it, Titan Books released Andy Burns' The Art and Making of The Stand and holy cow does it look chock-full of everything I want my eyes to devour. This is available to purchase now, and if you dug the recent mini-series, this is a no-brainer. Check out below what's in store!

In an apocalyptic vision of a world decimated by plague and embroiled in an elemental struggle between good and evil, the fate of mankind rests on the frail shoulders of the 108-year-old Mother Abagail and a handful of survivors. Their worst nightmares are embodied in a man with a lethal smile and unspeakable powers: Randall Flagg, the Dark Man.

In 1979 Stephen King published The Stand, a massive apocalyptic tale that set the standard for all those stories that followed. The book was another massive King bestseller, leading to the release of The Complete and Uncut version in 1990, an ABC four-part mini-series in 1994 and a 31-issue Marvel Comics adaptation in 2009.

The new 9-episode event series from CBS All Access (now Paramount+), which premiered at the end of 2020, revisits King's opus with a star-studded cast, including Oscar™-winner Whoopi Goldberg, Alexander Skarsgård, James Marsden, Odessa Young, Jovan Adepo, Amber Heard, Owen Teague, Henry Zaga, Brad William Henke, Greg Kinnear, Irene Bedard and Nat Wolff all bringing the story into the 21st Century.

THE ART AND MAKING OF THE STAND takes readers behind the scenes of this much-anticipated series to discover how a remarkable group of producers and actors brought Stephen King’s genre-defining opus to screen. The book is full to the brim with on-set photography, concept art and more, accompanied by interviews with the crew and all-star cast alongside the shooting script for the never-before-published coda written for the new series by King himself.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Andy Burns is the author of This Dark Chest of Wonder: 40 Years of Stephen King’s The Stand. The book traced the history of King’s apocalyptic masterpiece from its creation through its multiple adaptations. Andy is a founder and publisher of the pop culture website Biff Bam Pop!, and a former staff writer for Rue Morgue. Currently, he is the Interactive Content Editor for SiriusXM Canada.

Cover
Buy Amazon Us
Cover
Buy Amazon Uk

/images/images/images

Click images to enlarge.

Want to share some news? Click here to hit us with it!

About The Author
Steve Pattee
Author: Steve Pattee
Administrator, US Editor
He's the puppet master. You don't see him, but he pulls the strings that gets things done. He's the silent partner. He's black ops. If you notice his presence, it's the last thing you'll notice — because now you're dead. He's the shadow you thought you saw in that dark alleyway. You can have a conversation with him, and when you turn around to offer him a cup of coffee, he's already gone.
Recent Articles

­

Join Us!

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...