DNA Banner 03
horror dna logo header right
Click images to enlarge


Last week at the Diamond Retailer Summit, Oni Press announced three new titles that are right up our alley here at Horror DNA. They're not your average horror books. Instead, they seem to play with the genre, mixing it with comedy or gearing it towards a younger audience that's sure to excite new and old fans alike.

First up is the horror-comedy mini-series Dead of Winter, based on the tabletop board games by Plaid Hat Games. Written by Kyle Starks and illustrated by Gabo, the series is described as a mix between The Walking Dead and Airbud. If that doesn't catch your attention, nothing will. Here's the write-up from the publisher:

Click images to enlarge

In the pantheon of heroes, none are more lovable and loyal than everyone's beloved good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV star turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and not yet undead?

Dead of Winter #1 is set for release on August 2nd, 2017.

Click image to enlarge

Keeping with the humorous horror vibe, the next title is Made Men, written by Paul Tobin and illustrated by Arjuna Susini with colors by Gonzalo Duarte. It's described as an action / dark comedy book that sounds awesome.

After an ambush leaves Detroit Special Ops Officer Jutte Shelley left for dead (and the rest of her squad DEFINITELY dead), she decides to go into the family business. You see, Jutte’s actually a Frankenstein, and thanks to her ancestors’ various experiments, she has the ability and the know-how to bring people back from the dead. So that’s exactly what she does with her squad: brings them back to life (using some non-human parts in the process) so they can get revenge on those who had the audacity to try and kill them.

Click images to enlarge

Made Men #1 will be released on September 6th, 2017.

Click image to enlarge

Finally, we've got Spectacle, a three-volume young adult graphic novel series by Megan Rose Gedris. It features a supernatural murder mystery.

Pragmatic engineer Anna works as a psychic in the Samson Brothers Circus, but she doesn't believe in anything supernatural... until her twin sister Kat is murdered and comes back as a very demanding ghost. Sharing a room with her sister was hard, but now they're sharing a body while trying to identify the killer. But how can you solve a mystery when everyone around has their own shady secrets?

Spectacle: Volume 1 is set for release in Winter 2018.

Click images to enlarge

Oni Press always delivers unique and interesting titles and these are no different. I'm definitely looking forward to these batches and what else the publisher has in store in the coming year. Which one are you most excited about?

Want to share some news? Click here to hit us with it!

About The Author
James Ferguson
Lord of the Funny Books
James has a 2nd grade reading level and, as a result, only reads books with pictures. Horror is his 5th favorite genre right after romantic comedy and just before silent films. No one knows why he's here, but he won't leave.
Recent Articles


Join Us!

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...